NaNoWriMo 2013: Day 28

Okay, the book won. No writing got done yesterday. *head desk*

Anyway, Happy Thanksgiving to everyone! I hope everyone had a fun time with family and friends and stuffed themselves with great food. I know I did.

10:25 PM-11:20 PM: Wow, I didn’t even write for an hour today, nor did I break 2k. But you know something? I’ve come to terms with the fact that my story won’t reach 75k. And that’s perfectly okay. 🙂

You see, my story is about to end. There is one last major problem in store for my characters, but I could basically finish the thing right now, if I really wanted to.

I really don’t want to.

Last year, I finished my novel on November 28. While I am obsessed with beating records (or at least trying to maintain myself somewhere near them), I don’t want to finish my novel today.

My reason? Last year, it was absolutely glorious to have a manuscript at 75k, finished, on Day 28. Except that, when Day 29 came, I felt really stupid. NaNo wasn’t over, people were still writing their novels and having fun, some people were racing to get to the finish line in time, and here I was, twiddling my thumbs with nothing to write. I go through serious NaNo withdrawal, and last year was made worse by the fact that I finished two days early.

Maybe it’s silly for me to think this, but I want to be able to experience NaNo all the way up to the last minute. I want to procrastinate, then hate myself later and pound out the last scene of my novel at record speed. I want a little more risk, I want to be watching the clock realizing I may not make it, I want there to be just as much suspense in getting the novel finished as there is in my story…

Heh, I’m beginning to think I like torturing myself. But this is what happens when you attempt something called National Novel Writing Month, aka, National Going Insane Month.

Before I end my post, I want to share a line from my story. It’s definitely not the best thing I’ve ever written, but it made me laugh after I typed it, especially because it had to do with Magni:

Magni’s voice stumbled over his tongue as he tried forcing words out through a dumb smile.

Hopefully, he’ll have more to say tomorrow (so that I can stretch the story to last tomorrow and the 30th ;)).

Words written today: 1,868

Total words written: 68.494

Scenes edited today: 0

Total scenes edited: 15

Leave a Reply

