NaNoWriMo 2013: Day 26

If today had been any other day of the month, I would have probably stayed up reading The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest until I finished it. I normally am not a fan of adult novels (mostly because they aren’t as engaging as YA), especially when they’re so graphic, but Larsson’s books are the exception. 🙂

10:00 PM-11:25 PM: I told myself that I’d start writing at 9:30, but, well, that’s when the book just got a bit more interesting. So interesting that I had to finish reading the long chapter. And start the next one.

But I managed to put the book down and focus on my own tonight. 🙂 I almost wrote 3k today, but I wanted to end my story on a good note so that I’d want to work on it more tomorrow. That way, I won’t be tempted by the Hornet’s Nest (that is, if I don’t finish reading the book before my usual writing time).

So, the story did get interesting. (Mine, I mean. :P) Bad guy got away, MMC almost died, and now my main character is on the warpath. She is really, really angry. Using her own words here would not be appropriate. (I’m often amazed at my character’s cursing abilities, because I don’t swear, and it’s weird typing those words onto the page and hearing her say them in my head. 0.0)

Oh, and she managed to track the bad guy down again, so now the *final* battle is happening. I stopped at the point right where she got thrown off a balcony.

Yeah, she’s losing at the moment.

I do realize that my story will probably wind up shorter than 75k. That bothers me a little, because I have mentally been preparing for 75k this entire month, and stopping short of that feels like I failed to beat last year’s word count of 75,780.

Why do I have to be so obsessed with beating records? WHY?

Reminder to self: The real goal was to finish the novel. 75k was just putting a number on it, something I could aim for.

But you know what? The ending, where all my characters reunite and laugh and have fun, is going to produce a lot of words. I have this note I made a year ago about a funny conversation that popped into my head (about two sentences worth), and since it involves Magni, I just *know* I’m going to have a hard time shutting him up.

But this time, I don’t think I’ll try. 😉

Words written today: 2,956

Total words written: 66,626 (Hey, that’s pretty cool, because today is the 26th, so it all matches! 😀 What can I say, I’m OCD.)

Scenes edited today: 0

Total scenes edited: 15

Leave a Reply

