NaNoWriMo 2013: Day 25

I think today was the hardest day of writing for me so far this November. I’ve hit a rough spot in the plot, because I feel like the ending is coming too soon, and I’m floundering. (Though Christopher Tallant left a comment on my previous post, giving me an idea to help with this. πŸ™‚ I wish I had read it before I started today’s writing session!)

10:25 PM-11:50 PM: So, like I said, I struggled. Not once in the six 10 minute wars I participated in did I reach the 500 mark. In fact, in one war, I dipped below 400, which hasn’t happened in a long time. (Okay, I had to check that…last time I dipped before 400 was on the 14th, so it wasn’t that long ago. Feels like it, though.)

But as I struggled to write, I noticed something: I was the only person doing the wars (except for one person, who got to 50k during one of the wars) with more than 50k. While I was struggling with my story, these writers were struggling with their word counts (and possibly their stories too). Why should I complain to myself?

I then turned to Twitter, and saw much of the same thing. Some writers had already made 50k, or were close to making it, while others were behind, desperately trying to catch up. Instead of complaining about the progress of my story, shouldn’t I be more thankful? More positive?

So I did something that I normally don’t do: I tried to send some encouragement to people via Twitter. Now, the reason I don’t normally do that is because 1) I’m a really, really shy person, 2) I’m not very good at encouraging people, and 3) I’ve only thought about myself and my story this November, occasionally posting on other blogs when I found the time (basically, I’ve been selfish).

But, despite going out of my comfort zone, it felt really good cheering people on. πŸ™‚ In fact, for the remainder of November, that’s what I’m going to do: between word wars, I’m going to hang out in #NaNoWriMo on Twitter and cheer writers onward. Feel free to join me!

For the few readers who read my blog, if you’re doing NaNoWriMo like me and have not yet made 50k, don’t stop writing now! You can still make it, so long as you keep writing!

Words written today: 2,650

Total words written: 63,670

Scenes edited today: 0

Total scenes edited: 15

P.S. I suppose I should have added something about my story, like what’s going on at the moment to my characters, but it’s such a chaotic mess that it’s not worth mentioning. Maybe tomorrow, if things improve/get more exciting.

P.P.S. I forgot to mention that I validated my novel, and I’m now an official winner! Badges will at some point be added to my blog. πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2013: Day 25

  1. ninjaitis says:

    YES! Please give us encouragement haha I don’t see how you’ve gotten so far when I’m seriously behind. And I’m not even as behind as most people are. But writing is a personal thing, so it’s also okay to feel like you still haven’t reached your goal. My goal is to finish, not 50k, so I’ve had to remind myself that when I see people at 50k or WAY beyond that. I am too competitive sometimes, which is why NaNo works for me well most of the time, but now I just need to realize that this is my story and I’m almost done with it, but I shouldn’t be jealous of others for completing NaNo. Great post!

    • Takayta says:

      Thank you! Yes, I’m competitive too, and that’s why NaNo works so well for me (though, most of the time, I’m competing against myself). I don’t know how I’d ever get a first draft written without NaNo.

      And yes, NaNo (as well as all writing) is a definitely a personal thing, so it’s always better to focus on your story and your progress and not on that of others’. πŸ™‚

      Good luck on finishing your story before the end of November! You can do it! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

