NaNoWriMo 2013: Day 24

I am really, really sad that this is the last week of November. I’m not ready for this event to be over, nor am I ready for the upcoming holidays. Why does time have to go by so fast when you’re having a good time?

9:55 PM-11:20 PM: I almost skipped writing tonight, feeling tired after the busy day I had. But when I realized that there were only six more days left in November, I had to write. I can’t afford to miss anymore November writing days! I know I would regret it later.

So, six 10 minute word wars brought me to over 3k. Not bad for a day’s writing session! In the first three wars, I got over 500 words (in one, I got 562 words, so close to my record!), but in the last three, I couldn’t make it that high again. You want to know why? It’s because I’m really bad at writing fight scenes. I tend to not add enough detail, which confuses me later on, so I tried as hard as I could to add lots of detail.

Detail does not come naturally to me. It’s slow to write and slows things down. Dialogue, on the other hand, is much easier to write, especially with characters that don’t shut up (you can then guess what those first three more productive wars consisted of ;)).

Anyway, so the story is getting really confusing. I don’t know what I’m doing anymore, I’m rambling and stumbling around more than I’d like to, and I have a bad feeling that the novel won’t get anywhere near 75k. Which I guess isn’t a bad thing, since I tend to add words during revisions, but I feel like something is off. The final battle is beginning to happen already, which is way too soon. Yet rambling and blindly making my way to the climax for the sake of adding words doesn’t sound like a very good idea, either.

Characters, if you are reading this, please do something interesting. Something that will delay the climax for a little while longer. We need to build more suspense, more conflict before we launch ourselves into the final battle. Or else I may have no other choice but to kill you for the sake of keeping me interested.

Words written today: 3,030

Total words written: 61,020

Scenes edited today: 0

Total scenes edited: 15

6 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2013: Day 24

  1. Wish I had as many words as you, but I did write over 4,000 today, so I have to be satisfied with that. Congratulations, you are doing great.
    BB

  2. Why do you feel the ending battle is too soon? Why not have the battle, but instead of it being over -finally- have the leader of the bad guys get away and the “final” fight take place with the search and capture/destruction of said bad guy? Kind of “blues brothers” ending, if you will… Like the last show isn’t really the last show, there’s still a car chase and so much more action that it ties everything else before it into the final chunk?

Leave a Reply

