NaNoWriMo 2013: Day 23

I know, I know. I missed yet another day of writing yesterday. But we had plans, we got home late, and we had to get up early this morning, so why would I stay up past midnight to write more words on my novel when I was still ahead?

Yeah, so that’s why I didn’t write yesterday. Funny, though, because I have to get up even earlier tomorrow, and look what I’m doing right now: writing a blog entry about my day of writing.

9:50 PM-11:00 PM: This is really funny. I mean, I talked in my last entry about not knowing what in the world I’ve gotten myself into. Whenever I don’t know what to expect next in my story, whenever there is a change of plans and my outline doesn’t work, I slow down. I can’t write as fast. I mean, how can I, when I don’t even know what’s supposed to happen in the next scene?

Then, I did five 10 minute word wars, four of which had word counts greater than (or equal to) 520 words! 0.0

I have never written so fast in my life. I still didn’t beat the all time record of 566 words in a ten minute span, though, but I mean, getting 500 words or above on 80% of the wars is really an impressive feat.

I’ve come to the conclusion about two things: one, it really helps to listen to music between word wars, preferably the same song over and over so that, whenever you hear it, it reminds you of the novel you’re currently writing (I’ve listened to my novel’s theme song 93 times now, this November only. That’s like, almost nine hours worth! 0.0); and two, to type as fast as you can regardless of typos and force yourself to fix them later (which is extremely hard for me to do, but I didn’t do it tonight).

Kinda weird to think that those two things combined made me more productive, but they’re the only things I can attribute to the awesome word counts today. Unless…unless the fact that I didn’t know what I was doing made me productive? Could it be that I have a bit of pantser blood in me and have never known it? 0.0

Anyway, there has been another interesting twist in this thing called my novel. You could say I was being generous to my characters by giving them a special ability (now that they’re sort of dating…), but, for the strangest reason, they didn’t want it!

I mean, yes, they most certainly wanted it, and they tried using it, but now it doesn’t work, which is not what I had planned in the outline. It was like I was giving them a brand new car to drive around, and it broke before they could get anywhere. I’m not doing this on purpose to them, honest! Either they are trying to help me create more conflict (and thus make the story more interesting and fun for me to write, which is really sweet of them), or they just like torturing themselves.

Either way, I’m happy with the direction the story has taken, thanks to them. 😀

Words written today: 2,612

Total words written: 57,990

Scenes edited today: 0

Total scenes edited: 15

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2013: Day 23

  1. It’s so interesting when the characters do that. You have one idea for them and they have an entirely different idea for themselves. So cool that you’re the 50,000. I better get going!
    BB

    • Takayta says:

      You’d think with characters being made-up, you wouldn’t have such problems, but they just come alive and change things on you in the least expected ways.

      Thank you for stopping by! 🙂

Leave a Reply

