NaNoWriMo 2013: Day 21

Wow, what an exciting day in the world of my story!

No editing got done, sadly, but that’s okay. I realize that I won’t make my editing goal of a scene a day, but 15 scenes edited is better than none. 🙂 I’ll still probably edit a few more scenes before the month is over, but right now I want to focus on my NaNo novel!

10:30 PM-11:55 PM: Notice that I started in such a way that I would definitely make it to 2.5k, unlike my near disaster last night (which all turned out well in the end). I wanted to be sure to make my goal, so I wasn’t going to take any more chances!

Anyway, I had an absolute blast with the story today. I realize that for the amount of words I wrote, I didn’t move the story very far, but my characters helped by adding some pretty cool things into the mix. What was supposed to be a straight forward getting-information-out-of-locked-room scenario turned into a wild treasure hunt. My characters got into the room, only to find it empty (it wasn’t supposed to be empty, darn it!), then they found a note, which told them to go into another room, which told them to find something else in another room, which led them back into the original, empty room…long story short, the “empty” room was actually covered in a map written in invisible ink! 0.0

The things that pop up unplanned in story still amaze me.

On a totally unrelated note, I learned that the old language of my creatures is not spoken, but hummed, like a song. Not exactly sure what this means yet…

Anyway, six 10 minute word wars brought me to 2830 words. Since the scene wasn’t finished, I wrote another 15 words to bring it to an abrupt close.

And now that the scene is finished, the most exciting (and least outlined!) part of the story will commence. I’m just as excited as I am scared to dive into the next scene, for I have no idea what I’m doing (then again, I never do). What I have written in the outline seems kinda bland now, and I’m considering ditching it. Maybe I’ll let my characters take over and see what they can do. 🙂

Words written today: 2,845

Total words written: 55,378

Scenes edited today: 0

Total scenes edited: 15

One thought on “NaNoWriMo 2013: Day 21

  1. […] NaNoWriMo 2013: Day 21 (takayta.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

