NaNoWriMo 2013: Day 20

I can’t believe NaNoWriMo is already two-thirds over. 😦 Why do I do this? When Week 3 rolls around, I feel like I’m still trying to remind myself that Week 1 was two weeks ago. I just started my novel! The fun can’t end in 10 days (or 9, since it’s technically after midnight). Someone needs to come up with a 3 Month National Novel Writing Event or something. One month just goes by too fast. (I’m probably the only human on the planet insane enough to think such a thing.)

Anyway, as you can see from my lack of posting yesterday, I didn’t do any writing or editing. I also didn’t do any editing today, despite going outside to do just that. I did get stuff done, mind you! It just wasn’t editing. (And, yes, maybe it wasn’t all that productive…)

10:45 PM-11:55 PM: I went into tonight with the goal of writing 2.5k, but then it hit me: I only had time for five 10 minute word wars. Which meant I would have to write at least 500 words for each word war to make 2.5k before midnight.

Oh, well, I thought, trying to make myself feel better, you can’t achieve every goal you set for yourself. You’ll just have to come to terms with the fact that you’ll be a bit shy of 2.5k, but that’s okay, because you’re still so far ahead.

I then told that little voice to shut up.

In my most recent post (down in the last paragraph there, after all that rambling), I talked a little about the fact that you can still make your goals, even when the math says otherwise.

Fate must love me, because I had another one of those days today! 🙂

So, after doing four 10 minute word wars, I had 1,939 words. Well, by this point, that stupid little voice was trying to console me, and I actually listened to it and told myself that I could write extra tomorrow if it made myself feel better. I mean, there was no way I could write 561 words in a 10 minute span. Not when my highest record ever was, like, 548 words.

And I swear I was not trying to type extra fast during that last 10 minute war. I mean, the story was just getting so exciting! This weird, almost evil presence (which was not supposed to be evil) is taking over my main character through a special weapon, making her do weird things, and she’s actually enjoying it.

Heh, I just now realized that what’s going on in my story sounds a lot like the One Ring…oops.

Anyway, with all that…*drum roll*…I wrote 566 words!

I checked the math twice to be sure, because I couldn’t believe it. But I did it, according to my computer’s calculator. 🙂

And now for the stats:

Words written today: 2,505

Total words written: 52,533

Scenes edited today: 0

Total scenes edited: 15

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2013: Day 20

  1. ninjaitis says:

    Nice! Congratulations! Yeah last night I told myself to stop looking at the word count because I was writing an important scene and I needed to focus on the writing more than the word count. I was able to finish that scene and start the next chapter, and I felt so proud that I caught up on my word count as well even though I had been behind. My climax is quickly approaching. I am just hoping I can finish this first draft before NaNo ends. I know a few long nights might be in order, but I have a full day of writing with a fellow NaNo on the schedule for this weekend. Yay! Writing wars are so productive!

    • Takayta says:

      Congrats on making so much progress on your story and catching up on your word count! 🙂 Word wars are definitely helpful in those situations.

      Have fun writing with your friend, and good luck with finishing your novel before the end of November!

Leave a Reply

