NaNoWriMo 2013: Day 17

Yes, I missed yet another day of writing this November. But I had a really fun time yesterday with my dad and a bunch of good friends, and I think it was great to have a bit of a break from writing so late at night.

No editing got done because the weather was bad today. (I really can only edit outside because I need to get away from the house so I can focus. That’s why I write my novel so late at night. It’s because everyone is in bed, and I can focus. And since the night is taken up by writing, that leaves the outdoors for editing.)

10:25 PM-11:55 PM: I got a little off with the word wars because I came onto the forums at the wrong time. I mean, I wanted to get started as soon as I got online, but everyone was in the middle of a war, and I didn’t want to wait. So, I did a 10 minute word war (by myself), then a little 3 minute session to get me in sync with everyone else, and then did five more 10 minute word wars. My goal was just to get above 2.5k, but I made it above 3k!

As for the story: I’m amazed that I wrote over 3k on this one scene. I mean, I was over halfway done with it before I got started tonight, and yet I somehow managed to add over 3,000 more words! It’s been a really fun scene to write, as it involved a police chase! Although, I may edit that out in subsequent drafts. But that’s what I love about NaNoWriMo and first drafts; you have the freedom to test ideas out.

Back when I used to edit articles on Wikipedia, there was this thing called a sandbox. You could create your own sandbox or use the main one. Users could write drafts of articles in the sandbox, test formatting, or use it as a place to rewrite an existing article without changing the real one. That’s what I feel NaNoWriMo is like; it’s a sandbox, a place where you can play and test ideas out, a place where ideas are not set in stone, a place where you can write freely.

Though, it also gives your characters the freedom to screw up your plot.

Words written today: 3,085

Total words written: 44,540

Scenes edited today: 0

Total scenes edited: 13

Leave a Reply

