NaNoWriMo 2013: Day 14

I talked yesterday about being a bit disappointed with myself about my novel’s progress.

Today, I completely turned all that disappointment into utter excitement. ๐Ÿ˜€

2:40 PM-3:20 PM: It was so beautiful outside. I spent most of my time just walking around in our fields, but I did manage to sit down with my editing project and polish up a scene. After all the word vomiting I’ve been doing with NaNo, it’s nice to see some of my writing in a more, shall we say, elegant form. ๐Ÿ™‚

9:30 PM-11:48 PM: I participated in ten 10 minute word wars, but the last one was more like a three minute session. I realized that I was just all worded out for the night, and I had reached the perfect stopping point. Not to mention that my word count ended on a nice even number, and I like it when that happens.

Oh, did I mention that I’ve passed the halfway mark to 75k? And that I wrote over 4k today? ๐Ÿ˜€

So, today was the day that my characters finally got out of hand. They’re about fourteen days late in doing that, but it was a fun scene to write nonetheless. I actually may leave it in subsequent drafts because it’s not all that bad. It’s weird, but the weirdness can be fixed later.

And speaking of weirdness, I have learned today that, despite all the romance I’ve read in books, I cannot write a romantic scene to save my life. I tried, really, but it just felt so awkward. Awkward for me, awkward for them…the whole scene was just awkward. I didn’t delete it, but I made a note to do so when November is over.

I then wrote the same scene again, but instead of using the outline, I let the characters decide how they wanted the scene to go. It turned out a lot better. While neither passionate nor sappy, they were really cute together, preferring closeness and laughter to all the awkwardness I tried forcing on them. Which is perfectly fine by me! ๐Ÿ™‚ Changing the outline is much easier than changing their personalities.

Words written today: 4,206

Total words written: 38,660

Scenes edited today: 1

Total scenes edited: 13

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2013: Day 14

  1. TJ Edwards says:

    One word: Winning! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

