NaNoWriMo 2013: Day 13

Yes, I didn’t do any writing yesterday. I studied all day and took notes. Then came class, and I was totally focused on studying and acing the test that I didn’t even think about writing between breaks. Oh, and we got home really late, so I didn’t have a lot of time before midnight to get any words in.

And today, I almost skipped writing. I just wasn’t in the mood. I thought long and hard about the pleasure of going to bed early and getting a good night’s rest. But, oh, the guilt! Sure, I wouldn’t have been that behind if I skipped today, but I just couldn’t bear the thought of wasting another November day doing no writing at all. November comes only once a year, so I better make the most of it (and my novel). 🙂

4:35 PM-4:50 PM: I did do a little editing, and, surprisingly, it was enough to get one scene finished. I’ve fallen behind again with this goal, but that’s okay! I still have plenty of time left to catch back up. And, unlike word count, which takes a bit of time to build up, editing isn’t that bad. Of course, my novel is in, what, it’s third or fourth draft? so it makes editing go by a lot quicker.

10:40 PM-11:50 PM: Like I said before, I missed yesterday. I really wanted to make 5k today (for yesterday’s and today’s word count), but the time got away from me. Long story short, I had a panic attack with regard to the health of my computer (antivirus software said everything is okay, though, so I’m fine now). This was the tipping point for me not wanting to write today. I wasn’t in the mood all day, and this took the wind out of my sails.

But look, I wrote despite how I felt! 🙂 I participated in five 10 minute word wars, but, unfortunately, it was not enough to even reach 2.5k. Still, I’m on track to reach 75k by the end of the month, so I should be happy. (And, don’t get me wrong, I am happy about being on track, but my averages are down (according to the spreadsheet I made), and I do not like it when my averages are down. Must fix them. Soon. Which means lots of writing.)

Not a lot to say about my story. My characters managed to get next to nothing done, thus further delaying me from getting to the exciting parts of the novel. I could slap them all silly. Or kill them. With a shovel. 😉

Words written today: 2,284

Total words written: 34.454

Scenes edited today: 1

Total scenes edited: 12

Leave a Reply

