NaNoWriMo 2013: Day 11

Well, today was a good day in the world of writing (and editing).

3:45 PM-4:30 PM: I finally got caught up on my editing goal! 🙂 I’m getting really excited about my progress, and I think that, by the end of this week, I’ll have several new chapters to show Mom. Of course, because I’m so insecure about my writing, I’ll probably go over all the scenes again before I print them out, but I think the story is really coming together.

7:45 PM-8:55 PM: I know, I started a lot earlier than usual. But I had the house to myself, so what was I supposed to do? The options were: do more school work, clean, or write. I mean, I know that sometimes you have to make yourself write, but come on. Why would I clean or do more school, when I could write?

(Please note that I spent the first hour or so goofing around on the internet. Despite how much fun I was having, I came to terms with the fact that I couldn’t waste all my time doing nothing productive.)

So writing it was. During those five 10 minute word wars, I really pounded out the words. My characters were attacked, but, for some reason, the attack scene was just…I don’t know, it didn’t seem very suspenseful. Like things were too easy for my characters or something. But then, just as the fighting ended, drama flared up. My main character was one angry…character! (Please excuse the poor word choice there. November has this habit of annihilating my vocabulary.) And just as I was getting near 2.5k, my family came home, so I had to stop. Just one 10 minute word war shy of reaching 2.5k.

9:30 PM-9:40 PM: Thankfully, I still had lots of time to get that one word war in. It turned out to be the best one of the night: 516 words! The drama has ended, but oh, the excitement is just about to begin! My FMC and MMC are going to embark on a dangerous side mission together, and they’re not going to have a lot of time to complete it.

Words written today: 2,787

Total words written: 32,170

Scenes edited today: 2

Total scenes edited: 11

Leave a Reply

