NaNoWriMo 2013: Day 10

Just barely made 2.5k on my novel before midnight! I really need to start earlier and not cut it so close.

4:00 PM-4:35 PM: That scene I was worried about editing turned out not to be much of a problem. The beginning was rather messy, but I was able to fix it up quite nicely, and therefore get the whole thing edited today. I’m still behind my editing goal, but at least I’m making progress on Secrets.

10:45 PM-11:59 PM: See what I mean by the last minute? I had a little over an hour to write 2.5k, and I could only fit about five 10 minute word wars in that time frame. Which meant that I would have to get at least 500 words on each war to make 2.5k before midnight.

Getting past 500 words in a 10 minute war is not very easy for me. I got 518 for the first war, but, for the rest of them, I never broke 500. At 11:55 PM (when the last war ended), I was still short 104 words.

So I just kept writing as close as I could till midnight, watching the seconds tick by on my computer screen as I raced the clock. And, with about 45 seconds left, I updated my word count, hoping I had enough…

And I did: 2,557 for the day. Whew.

As for the story, well, I didn’t quite get to the exciting ambush part of the scene yet. I can be so verbose sometimes and just ramble on to make my word count grow. You’d think I’d just rush ahead and get to the juicy parts, but me and my characters have a way of slowing things down to a more reasonable pace. I guess all the excitement will have to wait for tomorrow. I really need to get some sleep so I can focus on the homework that is due this Tuesday for biology class.

Words written today: 2,557

Total words written: 29,383

Scenes edited today: 1

Total scenes edited: 9

Leave a Reply

