NaNoWriMo 2013: Day 9

Today was a really busy day, and I didn’t get to write as much as I wanted to for the NaNoThon. And I forgot to donate, since I think it was also Donation Day, but that can wait for another time this November.

4:40 PM-5:20 PM: After getting home from the event, I really didn’t want to edit or write. I was tired, I wasn’t in the mood to work, and I just didn’t want to think about that annoying scene I needed to finish editing in Secrets. I somehow made myself work, though, and I credit that to the fact that it was really nice outside. I mean, who wants to be stuck indoors on a beautiful day? I always bring my laptop or iPod touch with me whenever I go outside, so I just had to work once I got out there.

I got that annoying scene finished, so I got 0.2 points right there for the completed thing. (See the yesterday’s post and the one before that for more on my confusing point system.) I then went ahead and finished editing another scene, bringing my total to 8 edited scenes this month. I’m still a scene behind, and the next one is going to be a monster. Thank goodness it’s Sunday tomorrow!

10:00 PM-11:40 PM: I got a later start than I wanted to, but there were some real life things that had to get done, and they took time. I still participated in the NaNoThon and made a crazy but doable goal of 3k. I wasn’t even sure I could make that in two hours, but I did! Seven 10 minute word wars brought me to my goal, and, in the first word war I did, I tied my all time record of 548 words! Just for fun, I compared my word war stats for this year to last year, and I noticed something stunning. Last year, it was rare for me to make it above 400 words. I think the average was about 375.

But my average for this year is around 470! I can’t believe how much I’ve improved!

As for the story, it’s getting really good. I’m building up the suspense in the upcoming scenes, and there is going to be an ambush soon. (Ambush against the good guys, of course. They’ll never see it coming.) Oh, and I’m going to have my main character totally freaking out in the next paragraph or so, but I want to save all that excitement for tomorrow. It’ll give me something to look forward to in the story, in case I feel like I did earlier today and don’t want to write.

Words written today: 3331

Total words written: 26826

Scenes edited today: 1.2

Total scenes edited: 8

Leave a Reply

