NaNoWriMo 2013: Day 4

I started really late tonight, yet I somehow wrote nearly 3k! Talk about productive!

2:40 PM-3:00 PM: I took a break from my school work and went outside for a walk, bringing my laptop with me. Despite really wanting to work on my NaNo novel, Enemies, I forced myself to work on editing my first novel instead. And even though I worked for only twenty minutes, I managed to edit two scenes, so I’m still ahead with my editing goal for the month! Which is good, because tomorrow, there will probably be no time for editing. Or writing. 😦

10:35 PM-12:00 AM: The only reason I didn’t make an excuse to go to bed early and work on my novel was because of football. I didn’t watch the whole game, but I wanted to watch the first half at least. It was good game, and, if it wasn’t for NaNo, I probably would have glued myself to the TV and watched the second half.

Anyway, so I participated in six 10 minute word wars and did a little mini writing session (which garnered only 71 words, mind you). This was the first day this year where I was so into the story that I lost track of the time. Twice. I kept going over in the wars! And not only that, but I averaged around 481 words per war. Normally, on a good war, I can get about 420 words, 430 if I’m lucky. And guess what? Besides that 71 word stint, my lowest word war count today was 431! It was really a fun day.

Here’s why: My characters have gotten a hold of a journal, full of information that is so important that it was kept from them for the duration of the previous two books. It’s so much fun getting to write these entries! In addition to that, I introduced a new character, and I have totally fallen in love with him. He’s going to be so easy to write, for he just loves following the plan I have set out for him in this book. And he’s so sweet. He’ll probably end up becoming the father figure for every other character in the book…yeah, everyone else just loves him too.

Tomorrow will be hard to squeeze in writing and/or editing time. I have a college class that starts at 6:00 PM and goes until 10:00. Did I mention that we live an hour away from the campus? And that I have to help some of my classmates with their homework, so that we have to be there about an hour early? And that I still haven’t finished my homework for the class?

So, I have a bad feeling that Tuesdays in general are going to be really bad writing days. Thank goodness I had the foresight to get ahead with both goals! (It actually wasn’t foresight, as much as I want to make myself believe. It was just me having trouble getting my characters to stop talking.)

Words written today: 2,955

Total words written: 15,566

Scenes edited today: 2

Total scenes edited: 6

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2013: Day 4

  1. Annie says:

    I started in day 1 and haven’t been able to write anything since. I’m glad you’re making head way. 🙂 I’m still contemplating what novel to write. Or start on a devotional. 3k in one sitting is awesome.

    • Takayta says:

      Thank you for the kind words! 🙂 It’s not too late for you to continue doing NaNo. If you can’t decide on whether to write a novel or a devotional, you could always write both and see which one you like best. And you could count the totals from both to your NaNo word count.

Leave a Reply

