NaNoWriMo 2013: Day 1

Wow, what a day!

As I’ve mentioned here, I made a ridiculous goal of writing 10,000 words on the first day of November. In short, I made it to 10,001, beating my old record of most words written in a day by 4,870! 😀

In addition to that, I was able to edit four scenes of my first novel, keeping up with that crazy goal as well.

Here is a summary of how the first awesome day of NaNo went:

12:00 AM-3:30 AM: I didn’t stay up all night writing, but I sure did stay up late! For three and a half hours, I did twelve 10 minute word wars (with about five minute breaks in between) and racked up a nice 4,909 words. I couldn’t believe how much I was able to write last night (well, it feels like last night…saying “earlier this morning” just doesn’t sound right). I will say that I did struggle with putting the first sentence on the page, as I had given no thought to the opening line. But once I got it down, the words just flowed from my fingertips. And, to my utter excitement, the characters did not deviate from the outline! Thank goodness for that!

3:15 PM-3:55 PM: This was the editing part of the day. The scenes I worked on weren’t too messy or torn apart, so I breezed through them. I’m hoping to continue with this editing pace and get some new chapters printed for Mom to look over. 🙂

6:00 PM-6:40 PM: I did three 10 minute word wars here, as I was panicking that I still had more than 5k to write and the day was going fast. I got my word count up to 6,219 before breaking for dinner and socializing with my family. (I really didn’t want to break for dinner, though. I couldn’t have stopped at a worse time in my novel. I ended on a really suspenseful note, and I just wanted to finish the scene!)

9:00 PM-11:15 PM: A few more word wars (well, nine 10 minute ones), and I got my word count up to 10,001! And, this far in, my characters have just loved my outline. I’m loving the fact that we are all in agreement as to how the story should go, as it makes the process so much smoother. Even though I’m so far ahead, I can’t wait to get back into the story tomorrow, as things are really getting exciting.

Anyway, here are the stats.

Words written today: 10,001

Total words written: 10,001

Scenes edited today: 4

Total scenes edited: 4

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2013: Day 1

  1. Lily Paradis says:

    Holy cow! Great way to start it off!

Leave a Reply

