JanNoWriMo

I’ve been kind of absent lately from my blog for a lot of reasons, most of which include school, writing, procrastination, and JanNoWriMo (short for January Novel Writing Month). My brain seems to operate on a basic level and can only handle a few things at once before forgetting about others.

I’m pretty sure I’ve talked about JanNo here before, but for those who don’t know what it is, it’s a spinoff of NaNoWriMo and takes place in January (which I guess was kind of obvious…), although the rules there are much more lax (you can finish already started works and do any kind of writing you want). The home page is a little outdated, but the forms are pretty active.

While I’m not officially participating, as I’m just editing my novel, I still enjoy hanging out with the small friendly group of writers there. I’ve even been brave enough to share an excerpt of what I’m writing with them, as I’m so paranoid of what other people will think of my writing and how they will judge me based on it. But their nice, encouraging feedback is helping me to open up more, and not worry so much about others’ opinions of me. I can’t please everyone.

I know it’s a little late for others join the group and start writing, but if you haven’t heard of the website before, I strongly suggest you check it out. It’s never too late to meet a new, wonderful group of writers, and the motivation you get when receiving words of encouragement is such a beautiful thing, especially if you’re struggling with the words on the page.

On another note, my novel so far is coming along great. I was on a three (or was it four?) day writer’s high, extremely pleased with myself and what I had written/edited. Things have gotten more bumpy since then, but I’m happy that I’ve kept to my resolutions and haven’t missed a day of writing so far this year. I only have about three more scenes left before finishing the middle of my novel, so I’ll have to make a decision about whether I should edit the end next or go back to the beginning.

We’ll just have to wait and see how it goes.

2 thoughts on “JanNoWriMo

  1. I didn’t know there was a January writing month, very cool 🙂 I love the writer’s high, good luck!

    • Takayta says:

      Thanks. 🙂 JanNo is another way to get that kick-in-the-pants with writing after NaNo’s over, especially if you’re a big procrastinator like me. And a writer’s high is indeed awesome. 🙂

Leave a Reply

