An Update on My Editing

As I’ve already posted here, I’m trying to get into a better writing/editing schedule. I had been doing so well, up until yesterday.

I get up early each morning and try to edit my story for at least an hour. However, my body doesn’t like the fact that I wake up when it’s still dark, so it has mastered the technique of sleeping through the alarm. I sometimes hear the alarm going off in my dreams, but even then I continue dreaming and remain asleep.

Making the alarm louder and more annoying on my iPod doesn’t help either, as yesterday I finally mastered the ability of turning the alarm completely off while staying asleep. I later woke up confused, then frustrated, and finally skipped a day of editing by promptly falling back asleep.

While it really isn’t a big deal that I missed a day (and I’ve actually gotten many scenes rewritten since I started this schedule last week), it frustrates me that it’s getting harder and harder to wake up in the mornings to edit. I try going to bed at a normal time, but I always get carried away on the computer/watching TV/reading that it’s common I look at the clock and realize it’s quarter till eleven. (It’s quarter till midnight now as I’m writing this. I ought to smack myself.) At some point, I may have to just switch back to editing late at night.

On the bright side, I’m thankful that today was the last day of school and that Christmas break is just about here. So now, at least, I don’t have to get up as early to edit because I’ll have no school to worry about.

And, I’ve gotten about nine scenes edited. My goal has been to take one to three days to edit a scene, but I’ve been able to go a lot faster than I expected. If I can keep this pace up, I’ll have the middle of my book finished by the beginning of January (my original plan was to have it finished by the end of January). About fourteen more scenes to go, and I can move on to the beginning or the end (because I like editing out of order and connecting the dots later).

Leave a Reply

