NaNoWriMo: Day 28

I finished I finished I finished!!! 😀

10:15 PM-11:57 PM: This has been, by far, the easiest day of writing. The words just flowed from my fingertips. My characters and I were in perfect sync. The outline was frequently used for the first time in a while. Everything was on track.

So much so that, when I took my usual five minute break after a word war, I looked up at my daily word count and thought, “I’ve written 1,960 words already?!” After another war, I realized that those five minute breaks were actually hindering me.

Yes, I screwed the word wars. This was my night.

It was me against the clock. It wasn’t about word count, as I looked down at one point and realized I had passed 75k. It was about the story. I was in the heat of the climax, and I knew the story was going to draw to a rapid close very soon.

I wanted to get those last sentences in before midnight. I wanted to finish the story on Day 28 so I could say, “I wrote over 75,000 words in 28 days!” I wanted to finish it tonight while the scene was still fresh in my mind, so that I didn’t have to worry about writing the last paragraph tomorrow.

And I did it.

It took six 10 minute word wars and a 17 minute writing session, but I did it. Those 2,864 words sped by tonight so fast! I feel like I only wrote around 1,800 words or something small like that.

Total word count today: 2,864 words

Total word count: 75,780 words.

P.S. I listened to that Shinedown song last night, and I loved it! I got it for my iPod today, and I was humming it like crazy to myself as I wrote the climax. The lyrics in that song resonated so well with what I was writing. Again, music gave me something that complemented my writing.

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: Day 28

  1. Congratulations! Huge Accomplishment.

Leave a Reply

