NaNoWriMo: Day 27

I sort of had a bad day today. The bright side of it was that my foul mood spilled over into my writing, making the story more vivid and fun to write (and therefore making me feel like I’m ending my day on a happy note).

4:44 PM-?: Well, I tried something new today. I wrote while riding in the car! As you can see, I kept very poor time for this session, as I get carsick easily and only focused on writing one word at a time. I discovered that if the road remained perfectly straight and Mom drove at a consistent speed, I could look down for short periods of time without getting sick. And, if I held my iPod straight out in front of me, I could write for even longer periods. Still, with talking, music, and road noise, it was hard to focus. Thus, only 67 words were transferred from my head to the touchscreen.

10:00 PM-11:25 PM: Thanks to my mood, things went really smoothly in my story. My characters seemed quite down in the dumps like I did, so there wasn’t any stupid nonsense. Plus, they’re all planning on doing something quite daring (the climax is coming!), and the process of laying out the roadwork for it was extremely fun. Tomorrow, the climax will begin! And, depending on how long it’s going to be, I actually might finish the novel tomorrow! And, if not, I’m almost certain it will get done on the 29th of this month.

That very thought really got me thinking on a more positive note. 🙂

I only wrote for six 10 minute word wars, not really caring much for the word count. It was more to just keep me writing. I wrote 2,268 words during this time frame.

So, even though I didn’t make it to 2.5k today, I’m so far ahead with my 75k goal that I really don’t care any more. Plus, I ended the scene I was working on, so it only seemed natural to stop here for the night and continue with fun climatic scene tomorrow.

Plus, I wanted to reward myself before going to sleep with a new song that I heard in the car today. I’m not sure if I really like it or not (but from the bits I heard in the car, it sounded awesome!), so I want to listen to the song in full on YouTube (the song in question is “Enemies” by Shinedown).

Total word count today: 2,335 words

Total word count: 72,916 words

Leave a Reply

