NaNoWriMo: Day 15

All I can say is: wow. Half way through the month, and my characters just blew me way with the last hundred words.

12:00 AM-12:10 AM: I was angry at myself for last night’s screw up, so I did an extra word war after midnight. It was a 10 minute one, but I got a nice 435 words out of it.

11:25 AM-11:35 AM: I got to speech class early, so I decided to try to get a 10 minute session in. I tried writing to a new song, which didn’t work very well, so I ended up with a word count of 122. But, considering it was on my iPod, I guess it wasn’t too bad. Typing on that thing is slow business!

9:40 PM-11:45 PM: I finally got an early start on my late night writing! Things were so interesting with my characters. The insane guy just keeps sending everyone spinning, while another petty argument arose later on. So, I had a nice balance of seriousness and annoyingness (that really should be a word).

Since the last bit of today’s writing blew me away with how distracting and annoying my characters can be, I thought I’d share it here. (The MC is Millie, who felt very similar to how I felt at hearing and writing this.):

Millie sat exhausted on her bed. Five hours of discussion had circulated the room, most of it consisting of Magni and Roxanne commentary.

“Those two can really keep things distracting,” Natalie said.

“Shut up!” Roxanne said, still laying on the bed.

“I think Mitchell must have hit her too hard,” Magni said. “She’s stuck saying ‘shut up.’ I can’t figure out how to make her vary her sentences.”

“Look in the owners manual,” Millie suggested.

“He probably lost it,” Natalie said.

Magni pretended to be offended. “I don’t lose things! I know where all my belongings are. I keep everything in neat order.”

“Have you seen his closet?” Roxanne said.

“You’re not broken!” Magni said, using it as an excuse to hug her.

“Shut up!”

“Oh, you can’t fool me twice!”

Millie threw her head on her pillow, wishing the nonsense would just go away.

See what I mean? They just won’t stop talking. It makes it really hard when all you want to do is wrap up a scene and move on.

(And yes, I’m aware that the little snippet above probably sucks, but it’s in raw, first draft form. I did not edit it one bit upon posting here, so you see everything as I first did.)

I participated in seven 10 minute word wars, and wrote for one 5 minute session (because I got myself messed up with the wars and had to wait an extra five minutes for the next one). I wrote 2,688 words.

I also forgot to mention that I donated to NaNoWriMo during their Donation Day. So I will proudly display the Donation Day web badge here on my blog, if/when I can figure out how to use it!

Total word count today: 3,245

Total word count: 40,826

P.S. That above excerpt is copyrighted. Do not repost or quote anywhere or in any format. (I am paranoid someone will steal my writing or ideas, but I’m trying to get over it.) Thanks! 🙂

4 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: Day 15

  1. […] NaNoWriMo: Day 15 (takayta.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] NaNoWriMo: Day 15 (takayta.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] NaNoWriMo: Day 15 (takayta.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

