NaNoWriMo: Day 10

Wow, what a day. I tried really hard to write extra to make up for my loss yesterday, but that didn’t really work out too well. (I had hoped to write at least 3,000 words.)

12:33 AM-12:54 AM: The secrets are spilled. My main character finds the journal of her master, and learns all her secrets. Or, most of them, as I got tired and didn’t finish the scene during this time.

Yeah, a really poorly timed writing session. I wrote for 21 minutes, and got 493 words written. All I can say is that I was tired, and that my sleepiness accounted for the low number of words.

2:18 PM-2:45 PM: Such a beautiful day outside! It was warm enough to wear shorts! It’s supposed to be even warmer tomorrow, so I know where I’m going to be spending my day.

The dogs really behaved themselves, dozing in the sun while I wrote. It was too bright to write on my iPod touch, even with the screen on the brightest setting. So, I wrote with good old fashion paper and pen, and it was fun rereading some of my older writings in that little notebook. I focused on writing the journal entries of my MC’s master, and struggled to find the right voice.

I spent 27 minutes writing outside with no breaks. I came back inside and typed up what I wrote, adding a bit here and there. So, after everything was typed and on the laptop, I had added 542 words to the novel.

11:00 PM-11:55 PM: Another late night crunch to make my word count goal for the day before midnight. However, already having over a thousand words written for the day made it easier to make it to at least 2,500.

I wrapped up the scene, and I think I was able to figure out the right voice for the journal entries. My main character was quite surprised and fearful of what she learned. And, of course, some of my other characters got into arguing amongst themselves. They can be so hard to control!

I did four 10 minute word wars with five minute breaks in between. I wrote a total of 1,685 words during these wars.

So, I’m just about back on track!

Total word count today: 2,720

Total word count: 27,247

Leave a Reply

