NaNoWriMo: Day 4

Most of today was spent watching football with my brother and trying to relax. I also worked on cleaning out old caterpillar rearing containers and straightening up my room some more.

I did manage to get a lot of writing done on my novel too.

12:40 PM-12:50 PM: I started writing the beginning of the fun scene. I had been looking forward to writing this particular scene since I first wrote about it in the outline. However, I had also downloaded some new songs, which proved a bit of a distraction. But otherwise, I had fun doing a little writing outside in the sunshine.

This was just a 10 minute writing session. Only 209 words were written, but it’s hard to type fast on an iPod.

4:35 PM-4:45 PM: I continued working on the beginning of the fun scene, building up suspense. Although, football proved a bit of a distraction…

This was a 10 minute word war against a friend. I was able to write 349 words.

9:40 PM-11:10 PM: This is when the bulk of the writing got done. But that’s how it always is with me. Procrastinate till the evening, then get it all done before midnight!

The fun scene turned into a bit of a bad dream (it wasn’t quite a nightmare). The words didn’t come as easily as I expected them to, and I struggled to figure out how things should continue forward. My characters seemed just as confused as I was, and I didn’t use my outline when I should have been looking at it every five minutes. But, in the end, things turned out all right, although I know this scene will need a major rewrite when I’m ready to edit the manuscript.

I did six 10 minute word wars during this period, with five to ten minute breaks between each one. I wrote 2,305 more words.

Total word count today: 2,863 words

Total word count: 11,444 words

Leave a Reply

