NaNoWriMo: Day 2

Most of my time today was spent catching up on school and reading. However, I did manage to get outside with my iPod and write a small amount before coming back inside and writing like crazy on my laptop.

2:00 PM-2:20 PM: This was the time I spent outside writing. I wrote for 20 minutes with random interruptions at various times pulling me out of my story. And when I say interruptions, I mean that I was trying to control four dogs and keep them from running off/hunting rabbits. But I still had fun outside, nonetheless.

So, just one 20 minute session here, with 354 words written.

3:50 PM-4:10 PM: This was probably the hardest time of the writing day for me. I have trouble (for whatever reason) writing on my laptop during the day inside. Maybe it’s the books calling to me from the bookshelf, or the fact that I’ve trained myself to use my iPod touch during the day as the place to write my story.

Regardless, I managed two 10 minute sessions during this period, adding 464 more words to the story.

6:25 PM-7:05 PM: This is where things got exciting. The story was moving forward at a quick pace, and my main character changed plans on me. But it was for the better, as I liked her ideas better than the ones I had planned for her.

There were three 10 minute sessions during this period (two of which were word wars). I wrote a nice 901 words.

11:00 PM-11:30 PM: Now, things got really fun here. This is my prime writing time. Probably not the healthiest or best habit to encourage. But I had a great time with my characters. There was a moment where my main character outsmarted me, and my outline suddenly became useless. I think I’ve managed to thwart her for now.

This was just one giant 30 minute session, with maybe one or two internet distractions here or there (mainly compulsive word count updating). An additional 813 words was added to the novel.

So far, I’ve been able to keep on track to my 75k goal this month. 🙂

Total word count today: 2,532 words

Total word count: 5,581 words.

Leave a Reply

