Preparing for NaNoWriMo

The outlining is finished, and the countdown to midnight begins.

It’s going to be a busy week with the start of NaNoWriMo, as my speech class keeps me busy. But I’m hoping to do a post a day during the crazy month of November, posting my word count stats as well as the progress of the novel. This year is going to be a bit more challenging than last year, because I want to complete the entire novel during November. So, instead of 50k, I’m going for around 75k (or whatever it takes to finish the novel).

That will mean 2,500 words a day if I’m to reach that goal. While that might be an easy writing goal for some writers, 2,500 words is a lot for me. It’s a challenge just to get to 2k in one day, so I’m really going to have to push myself to get an extra five hundred words written each day.

I’m hoping, however, that because I already know all my characters, the novel will come more smoothly. Of course, knowing them, they will fight with every bit of their strength to confuse, hinder, and utterly annoy me.

Yeah, I’m probably doomed.

Leave a Reply

