Only Five Days Left

I’m doing pretty well with editing my novel (at the moment, at least). I just finished a really fun scene, and now things are getting worse for my protagonist. The important thing, though, is that I finally have that confidence again about my writing, and am eager to continue diving into my messy scenes and clean them up.

One thing I’m a little worried about is that there are only five days left of NaNoEdMo insanity. Sure, it will be nice not to worry about putting two hours a day into editing, but that means I’ll only slack off when April rolls around. After NaNoWriMo ended last year, I only had two-thirds of my book done, and no matter how hard I tried working on it in December, I only added a measly three thousand words to the first draft.

I had January Novel Writing Month to save me with finishing my novel, but I have nothing for editing. Setting my own goals only proves to be a drastic failure, as I need to have the community of writers to turn to, even if I rarely post things myself. Just reading about what others are doing and what troubles they’re having make me feel like I’m a part of a big writing family.

Does anyone out there have a similar problem? If so, what do you do to keep yourself motivated about writing or editing?

Leave a Reply

